FAQ

Up
About RTC
FAQ
Links
Info Request

 

 

 

What is the Resident Teacher Certificate Program in Special Education and Elementary or Secondary Education?

The Resident Teacher Certificate (RTC) program in Special Education and Elementary or Secondary Education is an alternative-route certification program designed to attract high-achieving, motivated professionals to the field of Special Education.

The RTC in Special Education and Elementary or Secondary Education has three cohorts.  Each cohort provides pre- and in-service training as well as placement in a school district.  Each applicant must apply to one of the three cohorts.

What are the selection criteria?*

Bachelor's degree with 36 credit hours in secondary teaching area or 6 credit hours in English, mathematics, science, and social studies (i.e. history) for elementary education
3.0 GPA in qualifying courses
Qualifying scores on PRAXIS I and PRAXIS II at the time of application (http://certification.msde.state.md.us) (http://www.ets.org/praxis)
Rigorous interview process
Writing sample
Professional letters of recommendation
Employment eligibility requirements of the district

Where will I teach?

Candidates apply to one of the following districts:

Please contact the district representatives listed below for RTC application and hiring information.

Baltimore City 

            Sylvia Torry, Human Resources Recruiter

            410.396.8892

            storry@bcps.k12.md.us

 

Baltimore County

            Marge Penhallegon, Personnel Officer, Certification

            410.887.5768

            mpenhallegon@bcps.org

 

Harford County

            For information about RTC hiring:

            Barbara Matthews, ESEA Employee Recruiter

            410.588.5258

            barbara.matthews@hcps.org

 

            For all other teacher hiring inquiries:

            Margaret Goodson, Supervisor of Hiring

            410.588.5238

            margaret.goodson@hcps.org

 

Maryland Association of Non-Public Special Education Facilities (MANSEF)

            (Cohort open to current MANSEF employees only.)

            Denise Flora, Director, Oakmont School

            301.947.3761

            dflora@oakmontschool.net

 

            Linda Jacobs, Executive Director, The Harbour School

            443.394.3760\

            ljacobs@harbourschool.org

 

Prince George’s County

            Robert Gaskin, Human Resources Team Leader

            301.952.6037

            rgaskin@pgcps.org

            www.residentteacherprogram.org

 

*Full regulation is located in COMAR 13A.12.01.05G